Conducting Research in Switzerland from Abroad

Unfortunately, the Cantons of Aargau, Freiburg, Glarus, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Schwyz, Valais, and Zug constitute what might be called the “black hole Cantons,” meaning that nothing, or almost nothing, of records from these Cantons are available online for remote viewing. What do you do when you realize that your ancestors were from one of these Cantons? 

Here are some helpful tips about how to go about conducting research in places like these: